Detroit Tests of Learning


Ages: 6 through 17

Testing Time: 40 minutes – 2 hours

Administration: Individual

The Detroit Tests of Learning AbilitiesFifth Edition (DTLA-5) is the oldest and most venerable of the tests of specific cognitive abilities. The figure below illustrates the DTLA-5 test structure. The test includes 12 subtests: Humanities/Social Studies, Science/Mathematics, Word Opposites, Word Associations, Geometric Matrices, Geometric Sequences, Sentence Imitation, Word Span, Design Reproduction, Reversed Letters, Trail Making, and Rapid Naming. The results of the subtests can be combined to form 9 composites. Six of these composites represent different cognitive subdomains (Acquired Knowledge, Verbal Comprehension, Nonverbal Problem Solving, Verbal Memory, Nonverbal Memory, and Processing Speed); two of these composites represent larger, important cognitive domains (Reasoning Ability and Processing Ability). One global composite is formed by combining the results of all 12 of the DTLA-5 subtests and represents general cognitive ability. Examiners can administer the subtests from one or both of the DTLA-5 domains, depending on the purpose of the evaluation.

The DTLA-5 Online Scoring and Report System (provided as part of the DTLA-5 Complete Kit) was designed as a quick, efficient tool for (a) entering test-session data; (b) converting subtest item scores or subtest total raw scores into scaled scores; (c) converting sums of scaled scores into composite index scores, percentile ranks, and upper and lower confidence intervals; (d) comparing DTLA-5 scores to identify significant intraindividual differences; and (e) obtaining a score summary and narrative report.

The DTLA-5 Online Scoring and Report System yields four types of normative scores: age equivalents, percentile ranks, subtest scaled scores, and composite indexes. Percentiles provide the examiner with an index that is easily understood by parents and others with whom the test results are to be shared. Subtest scaled scores are based on a distribution having a mean of 10 and standard deviation of 3. Composite indexes are based on a distribution having a mean of 100 and standard deviation of 15. Age equivalents are indexes of relative standing that translate subtest raw scores to what are commonly termed mental ages.

DTLA-5 Contents

The complete DTLA-5 Kit includes the following components, all in a sturdy storage box:

DTLA-3 and DTLA-4 products are available as well. Use the dropdown menu to select DTLA-3 or DTLA-4 products.


Set of 25 Examiner's Record Booklets


  • Ages: 3-0 through 9-11
  • Testing Time: 15 to 45 minutes
  • Administration: Individual
  • Normed

The DTLA-P:3 is a quick, easily administered test for measuring the general aptitude of young children. It is particularly useful with low-functioning school-age children ages 3-0 through 9-11. It comprises six subtests, measuring cognitive ability in areas such as language, attention, and motor abilities.

  • All new normative data (collected 2001-2003)

Provides percentiles, standard scores, age equivalents, composite scores, total score, and a general mental ability.

Kit includes: Examiner's Manual, Picture Book, 25 Examiner Record Booklets, and 25 Response Forms, in a storage box.



The Detroit Tests of Learning Aptitude - Primary Third Edition Examiner Record Booklets, Set of 25


Examiner Record Booklets for the DTLA-5. 25 Booklets.


Examiner Response Booklets for the DTLA-5. Set of 25.


Examiner's Manual for the DTLA-5.